Streaming Media

Streaming Media on Facebook Streaming Media on Twitter Streaming Media on LinkedIn Streaming Media on YouTube

The 2010 Streaming Media All-Stars
The third annual Streaming Media All-Star team is made up of the people who've done the most over the years to advance both new technologies and sustainable business models, as well as those who time and time again have given back by educating newcomers inside the industry and evangelizing about online video to those outside it.

Unlike the other three major sports league "all-star" events, Major League Baseball's All-Star game actually lives up to its billing. The NBA All-Star event is more about the pre-game festivities than about the actual game; the NHL All-Star game is just a 3-hour shootout; and most of the NFL's top players can't even be tempted to show up for the game even for the free trip to Hawaii. But being named an MLB All-Star is still an honor, and the players-to employ an overused sports cliche-actually come to play. Of course, the fact that home-field advantage in the World Series is on the line has more than a little to do with that.

There's nothing like that at stake here, I'm afraid, but we can only hope that this year's Streaming Media All-Stars feel some of that kind of honor for being recognized as the top players in the online video game. Some of them are relative newcomers to the scene, while others are seasoned veterans who've been doing this so long that it's easy to forget just how important their contributions have been (and continue to be).

As always, though, we selected the team members based not only on their personal successes, which speak for themselves, but also for their commitment to sharing what they've learned with others. If there's one common thread that ties all of them together, it's that online video isn't just a vocation for any of them; it's a calling, and one they want to share with as many people as possible.

Here's this year's team:
• Steve Garfield
• Glenn Goldstein
• Lisa Larson-Kelley
• Rob Levy
• Kevin Nalty
• Jan Ozer
• Andy Plesser
• Mark Robertson
• Anthony Soohoo
• Mike Tedesco

We asked each of our All-Stars a few questions to help us assemble the baseball cards that follow:

• What are your proudest achievements?
• What's the "next big thing" you're working on?
• What's the biggest trend in online video right now?
• What's the biggest challenge facing the industry?

Congratulations to all of them! (You can find last year's team at www.streaming; you can find the inaugural 2008 team at article. asp?id=9954.) This year's Streaming Media All-Stars are brought to you by Sorenson Media.

Congratulations to the 2010 team!

Related Articles
We'll announce our Streaming Media All-Star Team in April, but we need your nominations. Who are your picks for the 2011 "Who's Who of Online Video"?
Presenting the fourth-annual Streaming Media All-Stars, the 15 best and the brightest who had the greatest impact on our industry this year.