Streaming Media

Streaming Media on Facebook Streaming Media on Twitter Streaming Media on LinkedIn
 
Upcoming Industry Conferences
Streaming Media West [13-14 November 2018]
Live Streaming Summit [13-14 November 2018]
Past Conferences
Streaming Forum [27 February 2018]
Streaming Media East 2018 [8-9 May 2018]
Content Delivery Summit [7 May 2018] 
Live Streaming Summit [8-9 May 2018]
Video Marketing Power Summit [9 May 2018]

Tutorial: Collaboration Tips for Video Editors

This tutorial will give you a few practical tips on collaboration when working with Adobe Premiere Pro and Vimeo.

As the need for video grows, so too will the need for easy collaboration within internal teams and between studios and their clients. This tutorial will give you a few practical tips on collaboration when working with Adobe Premiere Pro and Vimeo. We're using the Creative Cloud 2017 version of Premiere Pro and a Vimeo Pro account.

Collaboration for Premiere Pro Editing Teams

The first tip is for editors working on a video project that's going to be shared with other Premiere Pro editors. Maybe you're collaborating in Creative Cloud or on an internal network. In a recent iteration, Premiere Pro came out with a really cool version-control feature called Project Locking. Essentially, the feature ensures that two editors cannot access a Premiere Pro project at the exact same time, which can cause a lot of problems.

The example we’ll use to illustrate this feature in Premiere Pro is ClearTube, our in-house YouTube show, which is edited by different team members throughout the postproduction process. I'd like to lock this project while I'm editing so that another user doesn't make edits at the same time.

If you’re working on a Mac, you can find the Project Locking setting by navigating to Premiere Pro on the toolbar and then choosing Preferences > Project Locking option (Figure 1, below). (If you’re using Premiere Pro for Windows, choose Edit > Preferences > Collaboration.)

Figure 1. Accessing Project Locking in Premiere Pro for MacOS

In the dialog box that opens (Preferences on Mac OS, Collaboration on Windows), select the Enable Project Locking box to make it active (Figure 2, below). Next, you can input a user name so that other users would see that you're currently working on this Premiere Pro project. Once you're done, Click OK.

Figure 2. Enabling Project Lock and identifying the current editor on the project

In the event that another editor did try to access this locked project, they would be shown a message window that would say the project is locked by the user’s name you typed in. They could still open the project, but it would open with read-only permissions. This is a really smart way to keep a team project safe.

Collaborating in Vimeo

Next, I'll share another feature that came out recently that has really sped up our collaboration process. Most of you are familiar with Vimeo. If not, then I recommend checking out some other tutorials I've shared on interactivity and other amazing features with that platform.

In this tip, I'm going to show you how to save time by directly uploading a video to Vimeo from Premiere Pro. With your video edited and ready to encode for web delivery, navigate to File > Export > Media (Figure 3, below). You can also use the keyboard shortcut of Command + M on a Mac or Control + M on Windows.

Figure 3. Choose File > Export > Media to export your edited video.

On the right-hand side of the Export Settings dialog box, chose the Publish tab (Figure 4, below). Here you're given a handful of different publishing options for your video. This is a nice time-saver if you're using any of these channels and will automate your uploading process.

Figure 4. Choose the Publish tab.

Scroll down to the Vimeo option (Figure 5, below). Here, all you have to do is log in with your Vimeo account. Once you're signed in, you can adjust some settings for privacy, add tags, and enter a description for your video. When everything looks good, you can export the video and it will get uploaded straight to Vimeo when the video export is complete. You can always deselect this feature for any of the publishing channels offered by deselecting the checkbox for that channel.

Figure 5. Exporting to Vimeo

Related Articles
This tutorial will take a look at how to add clickable watermarks, links, and calls-to-action to the Vimeo platform.
This tutorial will look at online previewing and reviewing client videos with Frame.io through the lens of a recent 29-video series my studio produced with myself, a remotely located editor, and a client reviewing the videos in development.